#NewRelease ~ The Girls of Mulberry Lane (The Mulberry Lane #1) by Rosie Clarke ~ #4.5StarReview #AuthorRosieClarke @Aria_Fiction

Posted August 25, 2017 by Cyndi Becker 0 Comments

The Girls of Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke
Series: The Mulberry Lane #1
Published by Aria Fiction on August 1st, 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Goodreads

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

four-half-stars

Love, marriage, birth, death and betrayal make up life in Mulberry Lane, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries and Cathy Sharp.

Maureen Jackson is a prisoner of her father's blackmail. Three years ago, she'd been hoping to marry Rory, the man of her dreams. However after her mother's death Maureen was left to care and work for the overbearing father who claimed he couldn't manage without her. Now Rory is back in London with a pregnant wife in tow and reminds Maureen of the life that should have been hers.

Janet Ashley is the daughter of Peggy and Laurence, landlords of the local pub The Dog and Pheasant on Mulberry Lane. With the war looming, Janet hopes to marry her sweetheart Mike, but her father refuses to grant them his blessing. Going against his wishes Janet finds herself pregnant and Peggy is determined to hold her family together at all costs.

The Girls of Mulberry Lane is the first in a series set in London's East End during WW2.


The Girls of Mulberry Lane (The Mulberry Lane #1)The Girls of Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

The Girls of Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke is pleasant departure from my typical contemporary
romance/ women’s fiction reading material. Drawn to the WWII time period, London as the setting, and the potential angst, I found myself escaping into this story. It certainly won’t be the last Rosie Clarke book I read.

The story is told from a few different points of view which kept it very captivating. Peggy is the 40’s- ish old pub owner with an 18 year old daughter Janet who has fallen in love and wants to marry. Maureen, in her early twenties, gave up her own chance to marry due to the death of her mother and her father treating her like she owes it to him to stay and mind his shop. Both face roadblocks to love and happiness and these are the kind that transcend time. This is very much a character driven story with the impact of war serving to circumstances that drive certain secondary characters in and out of their lives. I can’t say I had a favorite character but I enjoyed all their positions in the community, and as friends to each other, in different ways.

It’s relatively low in angst, yet high on drama. There is a war going on after all. These three women grow so much in the 2 years that we spend with them. Janet finds herself in a bad spot with her family, Maureen grows some backbone, and Peggy recognizes some life truths about her own relationship and being disappointed by the people she loves:

” Life was never going to be the same, but perhaps it didn’t have to be all heartbreak and regret.”

The Girls of Mulberry Lane is the start of a new series and I anticipate we’ll be catching up with Peggy and the ladies in A Wedding At Mulbery Lane sometime in 2018. I for one am looking forward to continuing the saga. 4.5 stars and recommendation!

~Review by Cyndi

Purchase Amazon


About Rosie Clarke

Rosie Clarke has been writing for several years and has written under various names for a variety of publishers. She lives in Cambridgeshire, is happily married and enjoys life with her husband. She likes to walk in the Spanish sunshine and eating out at favourite restaurants in Marbella is a favourite pastime, but writing is her passion.

Rosie loves shoes, especially those impossibly high heels you can buy and has a gorgeous pair of Jimmy Choos but can't wear them so they sit on the mantlepiece.

four-half-stars
Divider

Leave a Reply