#ReleaseDay ~ Riptide (Rock Stars, Surf and Second Chances, #2) by Michelle Mankin ~ #5++StarReview @MichelleMankin

Posted February 21, 2017 by Cyndi Becker in 2017, 5+ Stars, Blog Tour, Contemporary Romance, Cyndi, Must Read, New Release, Our Review, Rocker / 0 Comments

#ReleaseDay ~ Riptide (Rock Stars, Surf and Second Chances, #2) by Michelle Mankin ~ #5++StarReview @MichelleMankin

#ReleaseDay ~ Riptide (Rock Stars, Surf and Second Chances, #2) by Michelle Mankin ~ #5++StarReview @MichelleMankinRiptide by Michelle Mankin
Series: Rock Stars, Surf and Second Chances, #2
on February 21st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 350

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


Rock star Ramon Martinez can have any woman he wants, and he frequently does because he canÔÇÖt have her.

Karen Grayson
Surfer girl.
My band mate's wife
The one woman I can't have.The one woman who could have my heart though I can never let her know.

Ramon Martinez
Completely forbidden.
I wanted him back at the beginning, but he didnÔÇÖt want me.So I made the safe choice.

The wrong one.

We were once friends. Now weÔÇÖre not even that. But weÔÇÖre both back in Ocean Beach and that dangerous attraction remains.

Riptide (Rock Stars, Surf and Second Chances Book 2)Riptide by Michelle Mankin
My rating: 5++ of 5 stars

The second in Michelle Mankin’s Rock Stars, Surfers and Second chances series, Riptide is an utterly mesmerizing read that held me completely captivated. It can be read as a standalone, but I recommend reading Outside first. Not only because it’s a great love story, but it’s also a good idea to immerse yourself in the world of the Dirt Dogs, a rock band made up of surfers from Ocean Beach, CA.

Riptide was one of those reading experiences that I hadn’t expected. The central characters are two flawed but worthy characters, their connection complicated by her marriage to his band mate and best friend Dominic. Like Outside, Riptide unfolds over a long and complicated 15 year period when decisions are made that would forever impact who they could and would be to each other. The story unfolds in parts, present to past, and from both of their perspectives. We truly get a great 360 view of who they are and what’s occurred between them. Their off and on again friendship is charged by a hunger for each other making this not only a heart felt “forbidden” romance but also a sexy and intense second chance, friends to lovers story. Mankin skillfully brings together all my favorite tropes with hot rock stars to boot.

At the opening of the story, in present time, we witness Ramon and Karen as they meet again after years dancing around and in and out of each other lives. This initial re-connection is sexy and charged with tension and it’s clear from both their perspectives they know that there won’t be much of a chance either will walk away unscathed. I just hoped neither would walk away period.

Mankin’s writing is poetic, thoughtful, and just magical. I could feel every emotion down to my toes. Over the years Karen’s feelings for Ramon left her confused, while Ramon accepts the situation of her marriage to his best friend as any good rock star might, through denial and by living the rock star life. They spend years skirting the issues and the age old attraction they share. Mistakes and assumptions and good old fashioned fear of the unknown gets in the way, making this an angst filled read. I loved every bit of it and really tried to finish it one sitting. But, the need for sleep and the heart pounding anxiety I was experiencing won out and I had to make it a two sitting read. It’s an incredibly emotional journey and a book I will definitely read more than once. That’s the mark of a 5++ star read and on I highly recommend!

If you’ve not read anything by Michelle Mankin then rectify that wrong by reading this book/series pronto. If you already know the joy of her storytelling grab this one and lose yourself and an undeniably beautiful love story.

~Review by Cyndi



About Michelle Mankin

MICHELLE MANKIN is the New York Times bestselling author of the Black Cat Records series of novels.

Rock Stars. Romance. Redemption.
Love Evolution, Love Revolution, and Love Resolution are a BRUTAL STRENGTH centered trilogy, combining the plot underpinnings of Shakespeare with the drama, excitement, and indisputable sexiness of the rock 'n roll industry.

Things take a bit of an edgier, once upon a time turn with the TEMPEST series. These pierced, tatted, and troubled Seattle rockers are young and on the cusp of making it big, but with serious obstacles to overcome that may prevent them from ever getting there.

Rock stars, myths, and legends collide with paranormal romance in a totally mesmerizing way in the MAGIC series.

Catch the perfect wave with irresistible surfers in the ROCK STARS, SURF AND SECOND CHANCES series.

Romance and self-discovery, the FINDING ME series is a Tempest spin off with a more experienced but familiar cast of characters.
When Michelle is not prowling the streets of her Texas town listening to her rock and Nola funk music much too loud, she is putting her daydreams down on paper or traveling the world with her family and friends, sometimes for real, and sometimes just for pretend


Leave a Reply