Stay Until We Break (Hub City, #2) by Mercy Brown #NewRelease #4.5StarReview @Myg

Posted June 25, 2016 by Cyndi Becker in 2016, 4.5 Stars, Blog Tour, Contemporary Romance, Cyndi, New Adult, New Release, Our Review, Rocker, Romance / 0 Comments

Stay Until We Break (Hub City, #2) by Mercy Brown #NewRelease #4.5StarReview @Myg

Stay Until We Break (Hub City, #2) by Mercy Brown #NewRelease #4.5StarReview @MygStay Until We Break by Mercy Brown
Series: Hub City, #2
Published by InterMix on June 21st 2016
Buy on Amazon

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


What happens on the road stays on the road in the latest New Adult novel from the author of Loud Is How I Love You.
Twenty-one-year-old Sonia Grant, a business major, has big plans for a career in the music industry. So when sheÔÇÖs offered the job of tour manager for her best friendÔÇÖs band, she jumps at the chance for some real life experience. When her number one crush, bassist Cole McCormack, jumps her the first night on tour, she hopes sheÔÇÖs in for three weeks of some hot backstage action, too. But Cole turns out to have more up his sleeve than she or anyone realized.
Nobody knows that Cole is on the road to party like a rock star one last time before quitting his dream to take a more practical job and settle down. What he hadnÔÇÖt planned was to fall in love with a girl he believes is out of his league. Will Cole play out the rock star fantasy he thinks Sonia wants from him, or tell her the truth and take the chance that sheÔÇÖll either break his heart or make an even bigger dream come true?

ÔÖ¼Ôÿà.┬©┬©,. ÔÇó┬░┬┤ÔÖ¬ÔÖ¼Ôÿà4 . 5 StarsÔÿàÔÖ¼ÔÖ¬.┬©┬©,. ÔÇó┬░┬┤ÔÿàÔÖ¼

Stay Until We Break (Hub City, #2)Stay Until We Break by Mercy Brown
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

In Mercy Browns follow-up to Loud Is How I love You, Stay Until We Break finds Stars On The Floor on tour and tearing up the East coast. Well as much as they can on their limited funding and the sometimes odd venues they were booked into. If you read LIHILY, then this is a must read. If you haven’t read it, get started on this great series about a band based out of New Jersey. With SUWB Mercy Brown delivers just the right level of drama and once again provides us with a stellar couple with which to fall for. Sonia “Sunny” Grant has offered herself up as the bands touring manager. There’s just one problem, and that is with cocky Cole being the player he is, using his “…demonic indie-rocker boy charm…”, to woo the groupies which also gets to Sunny. She’s developed quite the crush Cole which make this “tour” journal of sorts fun and sexy. And of course there is the possibility of some tour born angst.

The story line was perfectly paced and shows off Sunny and her distinct style and unique level of cool. She’s smart and really comes into her own as a tour manager. Her easy going nature and naivety make her very endearing. Sure she’s been around the club scene but she’s not been made a cynic by it and she does make mistakes. She is a bit out of her element but she has a really strong moral compass, yet another endearing trait. She’s tenacious and this turns out to be a very good thing for SOFT ( yes, there’s a reason why they use this acronym). She takes her job seriously, but there is always time for play. And play is what she wants. There is definitely some crackle in the air when she and Cole are together.

Cole is one of the most authentic male music characters I’ve read. He is the boy next door, working to help his mother with the bills and his sisters looming college tuition bill. Although he’s chasing his dreams, he’s weighed down by his responsibilities. He is also weighed down by a secret he’s keeping that will inevitably affect his relationship with Sunny. I do love his devotion and loyalty and how he plays her protector and her friend.

Stay Until We Break is an incredible read. I liked it a little more than I liked LIHILY. Maybe it was the scenario and the wonderful descriptions of life on the road for a talented but “opening” band?One thing is for certain, Mercy’s writing is wonderful. We get both Sunny and Cole’s view points which she keeps very distinctive. I liked being in Sunny’s head, she has an interesting thought process and quirky humor. Cole is a bit more serious, worrying about his future and keeping it together for the band while chasing away thoughts of Sunny.

As for the tour…well there are groupies, trashed hotel rooms and “Steady Beth” falls victim to some co-touring band hi-jinks. I could feel the grit of the clubs, smell the smoke, alcohol, and leather, and I could almost hear my ears ringing from standing too long by the speakers. It took me right back to my younger years where the only clubs I went to were small and seedy clubs and the bands I saw were not typically very glamorous. Mercy Browns “scene” is right up my alley and I’m crossing my fingers we get Joey’s story. I’ve always had a thing for drummers…

4.5 Stars & recommendation

~Review by Cyndi

About Mercy Brown

Mercy Brown is the author of the Hub City Romance Series, published by InterMix/Berkeley. LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is available now, and STAY UNTIL WE BREAK will be available in June 2016.

Mercy is represented by Brooks Sherman of the Bent Agency.


Leave a Reply