Off the Hook (Fishing for Trouble #1) by Laura Drewry #ReleaseDay #Review #Giveaway @lauradrewry

Posted April 12, 2016 by Cyndi Becker 2 Comments

Off the Hook (Fishing for Trouble #1) by Laura Drewry #ReleaseDay #Review #Giveaway @lauradrewryOff the Hook (Fishing for Trouble, #1) by Laura Drewry
Series: Fishing For Trouble #1
Published by Loveswept on April 12th 2016
Pages: 257
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

five-stars

Welcome to The Buoys, a West Coast haven where love comes in with the tide. Perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, the Fishing for Trouble series features three unforgettable brothersÔÇöeach of whom is a great catch.

Major league pitcher Liam O'Donnell knows his best days are probably behind him, but that doesn't mean he's ready to retire and become a fishing guide. Still, after all the time he's spent chasing his dreams, he owes it to his brothers to pull his weight around the lodge. The Buoys is their father's legacy, and they can't let some developer take it from them. The one snag Liam isn't counting on is a blast from the past: his ex-wife.

The moment Kate Hadley steps out of the seaplane, she knows this assignment is going to be trickier than she thought. She has to persuade the owners to sellÔÇöand one of them is Liam O'Donnell. Ten years ago, she made the biggest mistake of her life when she married Liam during a fling in Vegas. Now he's her only lifeline in the middle of nowhere. Kate's trying to keep things cool, but Liam just reminds her of the scorching few nights they spent togetherÔÇöand tempts her to make new memories that are just as steamy as the old.

ÔÜô┬áÔÜô ÔÜô ÔÜô ÔÜô ┬á 5 Stars┬áÔÜô ÔÜôÔÜô ÔÜô ÔÜô ┬á

Laura Drewry became a go to author for me when I read a few of her books in her Friends First series. Knowing IÔÇÖd have absolutely no regrets, I jumped at the chance to ┬áparticipate in this blog tour. ┬áOff The Hook is off the charts crazy great. ┬áItÔÇÖs one of those feel good reads that is thoughtfully plotted and delivers two equally love-able and worthy lead characters. ┬áDrewry is one of the best at second chance romance and the ÔÇ£fishingÔÇØ series opens with a 5 Star recommendation.

The story is delivered through two points of view as it opens with ┬áan introduction to Kate. I was immediately invested in Kate’s life as we are given a glimpse into a work opportunity presenting itself to her. ┬áKateÔÇÖs challenge, her imminent success, may just give her what sheÔÇÖs always wanted. At 8% into the story I found myself wit a huge silly grin on my face. Here is where we learn an interesting tidd-bit that promises to make this story angsty and sweet and fun. ┬á

As I said, I liked Kate from the get go. She only gets better. SheÔÇÖs got a strong and confident nature, but what I really loved was how pragmatic she could be. SheÔÇÖs bound to be reluctant as ┬áshe faces down Liam again and she really has every reason to hold back. Liam creates a chaos sheÔÇÖs not used to nor is she comfortable with. The ÔÇ£pandemoniumÔÇØ speaks to the chemistry between them isnÔÇÖt something she can ignore. ┬áAnd really, why ┬áwould any sane female want to ignore Liam?

While I loved being in KateÔÇÖs head, it was Liam and his thoughts about Kate that made my heart beat double time. Liam has lived with ten years of regret, never settling on anyone of finding himself connected like he connected with Kate. ThatÔÇÖs what won me – the ability for this bad a$$ ┬ábaseball player to recognize his sentimental side, to experience and show remorse. ItÔÇÖs really lovely to see him reflect on their brief past, to come to terms with his fear and to allow Kate the opportunity to get answers and to clear the air.┬á

The story line takes the couple, who are surrounded by some great secondary characters with family friend Jessie and LiamÔÇÖs brother Finn, through some personal and professional challenges. Time together on the island re-connects Kate and Liam in a way that allows for a slow-burn breakthrough, a chance to learn to trust themselves and each other. The writing is superb, the chemistry palpable and the dialogue clever. Once again, Drewry has earned 5 stars and commendation for a stellar start to the Fishing For Trouble series. Can’t wait to see which O’Donnell man will be the next to take back his life.

~Review by Cyndi

Buy Links:    Amazon | B & N | Google | iTunes | Kobo


Excerpt-Banner

They were almost to her cabin when she shocked the hell out of him by slipping her hand under his arm and nudging his shoulder with hers.

ÔÇ£YouÔÇÖre still a hotshot pitcher, you know. DonÔÇÖt talk about that in the past tense.ÔÇØ

Liam blinked hard, then leaned in and pressed a slow kiss against her cheek. Half an inch, thatÔÇÖs how close he was to those soft, warm lips he remembered all too well, but no matter how much he ached to taste them again, he forced himself to pull back and smile down at her.

Besides his agentÔÇöwho didnÔÇÖt count, because Liam paid him to say itÔÇöKate was the first and only one to even suggest he might have something left, and if sheÔÇÖd said it any other time or any other way, he might not have believed she was sincere.

But looking at her now, with her foot up on the porch, ready to go inside, there wasnÔÇÖt the slightest trace of doubt in her eyes, just those damn bits of amber flickering like little beacons.

ÔÇ£I, uh . . .ÔÇØ Blowing out a hard breath, Liam shoved both hands through his hair, locked his fingers together, and took a step back. ÔÇ£I better go. ItÔÇÖd really screw things up here if we woke up married tomorrow.ÔÇØ

ÔÇ£Right. Good thinking,ÔÇØ she said, her mouth curling into a slow, knowing smile. ÔÇ£ÔÇÖCause I promise you this, I wonÔÇÖt be nearly as nice the next time you divorce me.ÔÇØ

OFF THE HOOK_2OFF THE HOOK_3


Rafflecopter Giveaway (a $25 eGift card to choice book seller)
a Rafflecopter giveaway


About Laura Drewry

USA Today Bestselling author Laura Drewry had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write, and as a lover of happy endings, it only made sense she'd write romance. It helped that she and her husband had just moved 700 km away from their families, it was the dead of winter and she was about 49 months pregnant with their second child, all of which gave her the excuse she needed to hunker down inside and get at it.

Her books have been described as "delightful," "clever," and "smart, sassy and refreshingly different."

After spending eight years in the Canadian north, she's now living back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon, and an extremely energetic German Shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music, and the New York Yankees.

She'd love to hear from you so feel free to contact her at laura@lauradrewry.com

 

five-stars
Divider

2 responses to “Off the Hook (Fishing for Trouble #1) by Laura Drewry #ReleaseDay #Review #Giveaway @lauradrewry

  1. Thank you, Cyndi for hosting us on your blog on OFF THE HOOK’s release day – and thank you so much for the great review! I’m so happy you liked Kate and Liam’s story! 🙂
    Cheers!
    Laura

Leave a Reply