Loud Is How I Love You (Hub City #1) by Mercy Brown #ReleaseDay #Review @Myg @ninabocci

Posted January 19, 2016 by Cyndi Becker in 2016, 4 stars, Blog Tour, Contemporary Romance, Cyndi, New Adult, New Release, Our Review, Rocker, Series / 0 Comments

Loud Is How I Love You (Hub City #1) by Mercy Brown #ReleaseDay #Review @Myg @ninabocci

Loud Is How I Love You (Hub City #1) by Mercy Brown #ReleaseDay #Review @Myg @ninabocciLoud is How I Love You by Mercy Brown
Series: Hub City, #1
Published by InterMix on January 19th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.


One girlÔÇÖs heart gets rocked to the core in the first novel in this sexy New Adult series.

Twenty-one-year-old front girl Emmylou knows that getting her band noticed in the ÔÇÿ90s indie rock scene will be no easy task. She definitely knows better than to break the number one rule of the band: Don't sleep with your bandmates! But after she ends up having the best sex of her life with her guitarist, Travis, she finds following that rule is a lot harder than it sounds.

When the band gets the gig of their dreams, making it big seems just within reach. But EmmyÔÇÖs inability to keep her hands off Travis threatens everything theyÔÇÖve worked for. Can Emmy find a way to break the rules and not blow the chance of a lifetime?

ÔÖ¬ÔÖ½┬©.ÔÇó*┬¿*ÔÇó4 Stars┬áÔÇó*┬¿*ÔÇóÔÖ½ÔÖ¬

Mercy Brown delivers an amazing debut in her Hub City Series beginning with Loud Is How I Love You. ┬áThe story covers quite a few of my favorite genres. It’s a contemporary romance, with characters that classify as new adult crossed with a┬ámusic theme & a friends to something more story. ┬áAlso, the story is set in 1995, a time that I spent in the local club scene cheering on┬áfriends in local bands. You know there’s gonna be drama when mixing music, band-mates, friends and fans. Add in a chick lead singer who is hell bent on making it to the next level, a girl who broke her own rule when it comes to mixing band mates and sex, and things go beyond complicated.

LIHILY is centered around Emmylou (Emmy) and the band she fronts called Stars On The Floor. ┬á The story kicks off with Emmy waking up and realizing she and lead guitarist Travis have broken this most important rule (oh the shame of it <snark>)! We learn so much about Emmy within the first couple chapters and she’s is kind of a hot mess. It appears chaos rules her psyche (and now her heart). She’s so conflicted by her feelings and the connection she has with Travis and she’s certain that her plans for the band, their chance at success is now ruined. She’s also certain that her three band mates MUST feel that exact same about the band and their future(s).┬á┬áIt’s pretty comical because she REALLY over reacts and in doing so, she makes everything worse.┬áShe thinks about a ┬á”band-mates with benefits” approach, then ┬ápushes Travis to a hook up with a another girl ( like that was gonna work <snort>) , only to find herself staring into Travis’s eyes. With Travis, she simply second guesses, time and time again, and that just can’t end well.

Mercy Brown creates a charming heroine in Emmy. ┬áBut life inside her head is perplexing as she just doesn’t grasp the big picture of life. She’s pretty wrapped up in the “band” scene and she trips herself up by overthinking her path forward. She’s easy to love but also quite frustrating. She’s one of those characters where you can’t help but find yourself thinking┬áthat if ONLY you could advise her, you’d tell her to stop making so many silly assumptions. ┬áShe comes up with so many plans on how to deal with “the situation”┬ábut Travis is just too good of a guy for her treat that way. Between her obsession with the band’s next steps and the way she dismisses Travis’s feeling and denies her own, she lost me a bit. But, I continued to root for her. you just have to give some leeway to make the mistakes she makes and to learn her lesson(s).

Travis on the other hand has a serene sense about him and he knows what he feels for her and what he wants with her. ┬áHe’s considerate, sexy, smart and talented – yep, ┬áhe’pretty much ┬áthe perfect young man. ┬áHe’s just waiting for Emmy to get it┬á( for this he’s almost a saint). ┬áThere are a few moments when it appears she’s there, but we are left disappointed in how easily she slides┬ábackwards – causing all her own angst and comes┬áperilously close to the disintegration of┬áher own dream.

The dialogue is spot on for the place and time, and the banter between all the characters is perfect. I’m really excited to continue on with the Hub City series. There’s a lot of promise that the band on tour will lead to many late night shenanigans. Loud Is How I Love You┬áis┬áa solid 4 star read and earns a high recommendation!

~Review By Cyndi

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review


Buy on Amazon  iTunes

See what inspired the book with the author made video here

About the Author

Mercy BrownMercy Brown is a retired indie rock front girl turned author and LOUD IS HOW I LOVE YOU is her first book. LOUD is a New Adult novel and will be published by Intermix (Berkley-Penguin) in January 2016. LOUD is based, very, very loosely on Mercy’s experiences fronting bands in the 90s. A follow-up will be published in June 2016.

Connect with Mercy

Website  Twitter  Facebook


Leave a Reply